Aaron Swartz

 

 

The internet activist Aaron Swartz

I know this has nothing to do with my blog, but in a way, it does. I share information with you, images with you, that I have gathered from sources I know to represent accurate information about these artists and their work. I pull the best quality images I can, and I have the right to do so. But what if I wasn’t allowed to? Further, as a college instructor (and having many years experience as a student myself) I have always found it a little unfair at how locked up so much extraordinary information is. It is as if, while your a student you can learn as much as you want, but as soon as you graduate, you’re cut off. Doesn’t really make sense! I share with you because – why else have I learned what I have? To keep it locked up in my brain? To share only with other academics or students who have paid for it?

I am deeply saddened by the choice that Aaron Swartz made to take his own life. It is heartbreaking that he felt he had no other options given his circumstances and the inhumane treatment he received by the US Department of Justice. (you can read all about his case here.)

So today I am taking a moment to thank God for the amount of freedom that I do have. I am thankful that my life isn’t so wrapped up in merely surviving that I can sit at my desk on a cold January day and write whatever I want. Maybe not that many people will read it – but at least I have the freedom to write it.

 

Leave a Reply

